What’s up everyone?

As my first weapon of the week I wanted to make a one handed sword and one kind that always got my attention was the Gladius, an ancient Roman sword. It has a leaf like shape which is an attractive shape and the real one is more of a short sword, usually it is a little less of a grown man arm, but for this game I made it a little bigger just so we don’t have odd attack animations.

As references I selected these two, on the left we have a Julius Cesar’s Gladius and on the right a simple Gladius. I really enjoyed the hilt on Julius’ and the blade on the other, so I kind of did a mix between them.

Below you can see my quick sketch, it’s kind of hard to see but I added some details in the center of the blade.

gladius

And on this next image you can see the finished 3D model. Simple, yet elegant.

maya

I have to say that I really enjoyed making this one, it got better than I expected and it was quick and fun to do. You can see below the model with textures and normals created on Substace Painter and maybe you can see it later today in Arknostik’s post being used by our character.

painter

So, what do you guys think? What should I make tomorrow? Share your opinions in the comments section below!

Dertzack

